“If you Loved the I Survived series by Lauren TARSHIS”

If you enjoyed the I Survived series by Lauren TARSHIS, you may also enjoy the following series that feature children tasked with survival in seemingly impossible situations. On the back is a non-fiction series and some stand alone books.

 

Brian Saga  :  j PAU

From Hatchet: After a plane crash, thirteen-year-old Brian spends fifty-four days in the wilderness, learning to survive initially with only the aid of a hatchet given him by his mother, and learning also to survive his parents’ divorce.
Book 1Hatchet
   Book 2The River
           Book 3Brian’s Winter
           Book 4Brian’s Return
      Book 5Brian’s Hunt

 

Disaster Strikes Series :      jpbk KEN

From Earthquake Shock: When a sudden earthquake hits during a visit to the skate park, Joey and his friends are trapped on opposite sides of a collapsed overpass and must rescue each other while enduring aftershocks and making their way safely home.
         Book 1Earthquake Shock
Book 2Tornado Alley
Book 3Blizzard Night
Book 4Volcano Blast

 

Everest Series:      jpbk KOR

Korman, a #1 “New York Times”-bestselling author, presents a thrilling adventure trilogy about a number of kids competing to be the youngest person ever to reach the top of Mt. Everest.
    Book 1The Contest
Book 2 – The Climb
  Book 3 – The Summit

 

Island Trilogy:     jpbk KOR

From Shipwreck: The first title in a new survival trilogy introduces six kids who are sent on a boating trip to the Pacific Ocean as a character-building experience. When a terrifying storm hits, the ship is wrecked on an island and only the kids survive. Now that the adults are gone, the quest for survival begins.
       Book 1 – Shipwreck
    Book 2 – Survival
  Book 3Escape

 

Killer Species Series:   jpbk SPR

Spradlin introduces a brand-new action-packed series, with each book covering a genetically engineered super predator that wreaks havoc on its environment.
                     Book 1 – Menace from the Deep
            Book 2 –  Feeding Frenzy
          Book 3 –  Out for Blood
            Book 4 –  Ultimate Attack

Lost: Can You Survive? Series:    jpbk TUR

From Lost In the Desert of Dread: Deep in the Desert of Dread danger lurks under every rock in the hot sun. Will you survive poisonous stings, terrifying storms, and deadly dehydration?
Lost In the Desert of Dread
Lost In the Jungle of Doom
Lost In the Mountains of Death
Lost In the Sea of Despair

 

My Side of the Mountain:   j GEO

From My Side of the Mountain: Runaway Sam Gribley is surviving in the Catskill Mountains with only a penknife, a ball of cord, $40, and some flint and steel. Along the way, he learns about courage, danger, and independence during his year in the wilderness, a year that will change his life forever.
Book 1 –  My Side of the Mountain
             Book 2 –  On the Far Side of the Mountain
Book 3 –  Frightful’s Mountain       

 

Stay Alive Series:    jpbk MON

From Crash: When the plane carrying the Junior Action News Team crash-lands in Alaska, the group must try to stay alive in the wilderness.
Book 1 –  Crash
  Book 2 –  Cave-In
        Book 3 –  Breakdown
Book 4 –  Flood

 

Stranded Series:  jpbk PRO

From Stranded: From the Emmy-winning host of “Survivor” comes a rollicking family adventure series. Jane, Buzz, Carter, and Vanessa, aged nine to 13, are on a sailing trip in the South Pacific intended to help them bond in their newly blended family when a massive storm strands them on a deserted island.
 Book 1 Stranded
      Book 2 Trial by Fire
  Book 3 Survivors

 

Storm Runners Series:  j SMI

From Storm Runners: Twelve-year-old Chase Masters travels the country with his father, a “storm runner,” but he is tested in ways he never could have imagined when he and a new friend are caught in a hurricane near St. Petersburg, Florida.
          Book 1 Storm Runners
  Book 2 The Surge
Book 3 Eruption

 

STAND ALONE BOOKS:

Far North  by Will HOBBES                                                       j HOB
Blue Mountain by Martine LEAVITT                                          j LEA
Shipwreck! by Jake MADDOX                                                 j MAD
Camel Rider by Prue MASON                                                   j MAS
Shackleton’s Stowaway by Victoria McKERNAN                j McKE
Storm by Donna Jo NAPOLI                                                       j NAP
Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’DELL                     j O’DE
Nation by Terry PRATCHETT                                                    j PRA

 

NONFICTION:

You Choose: Survival Series:  Non-fiction

Experience the life or death dilemmas of survival in extreme situations. YOU CHOOSE what you’ll do next. The choices you make will either lead you to safety or to doom.
Can You Survive an Earthquake?    by Rachael Hanel                              j 613.69 HAN
Can You Survive the Jungle?   by Matt Doeden                                          j 613.69 DOE
Can You Survive the Special Forces?    by Matt Doeden                      j 613.69 DOE
Can You Survive Extreme Mountain Climbing?   by Matt Doeden          j 613.69 DOE
Can You Survive Antarctica?       by Rachael Hanel                                    j 613.69 HAN
Can You Survive the Wilderness?   by Matt Doeden                              j 613.69 DOE
Can You Survive the Titanic?      by Allison Lassieur                                     j 613.69 LAS
Can You Survive Storm Chasing?       by Elizabeth Raum                           j 613.69 RAU